top of page
Search

The Elephant Rig is Almost Complete

For the past 2 weeks I have been working on the Elephant Rig for our short. I am not gonna lie this has been my least favorite rig to work on so far. The way the body was built is just not very Advanced Skeleton friendly. I am not saying that our modeler did a bad job. The model has good geometry and looks amazing. It is just that the body on this character is so big it creates a lot of deformation problems. When I tried to tilt the chest it would bend in weird ways. And adding blend-shapes to the legs to make them look more natural is pretty much impossible as far as I can tell. The geometry in the hip area is so tightly packed that it is really hard to smooth and adjust. And on top of that for some reason the skeleton would keep breaking! I still cannot figure out why this happened so much. It would be working one moment and completely break the next time when I opened the file. Thankfully advanced skeleton makes re-building the joints and weights quite easy. So while I have not been able to figure out what the problem was I was able to get around it. I still need to work on the weights for this character because after I applied the face rig the weights on the head and trunk got pretty messed up.












4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page